It Was An Exciting End To The First Half In Cadiz

The closing stages of the first half between Cadiz and Atletico Madrid were exciting. Two goals (one for each team) and Cadiz had a penalty taken away after a VAR review by referee Jesus Gil Manzano.

The first half at the Ramon de Carranza stadium was action packed. Luis Suarez scored with a lovely free-kick and then the last 10 minutes were full of entertainment.

Alvaro Negredo levelled with a lovely shot to Oblak’s far post. Cadiz’s joy was short lived though.

In the 44th minute, Saul stuck his foot out at the near post with the intention of guiding it to a teammate at the back stick, but the ball ended up looping over Ledesma and into the goal.

Cadiz then thought they had a penalty, Perea was fighting for the ball with Llorente and Koke when the Atletico Madrid captain slid in. His arm was on the ground and the ball struck Koke’s arm.

The referee pointed to the penalty spot, but Atletico Madrid said his arm was on the ground to cushion his fall.

The on field official went to the screen and saw that the ball struck the ball on his arm while trying to cushion his fall so the penalty was taken away.

Cadiz, yet to have a penalty this season, were very unhappy at the decision.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.